LIC AWARDS 2021 WINNER: Care Home Design of the Year, sponsored by ThirdAge.Design

Leaders in Care Awards 2021-359

Bupa has been named the winner of this award for its Richmond Villages (Willaston) development.

This award recognises the homes combining the highest standards of dementia friendly design and luxury facilities, while also maximising infection control in a COVID environment.

Richmond Villages Willaston champions community living for those with dementia, supporting them to live well with the condition while retaining their independence.

It brings residents together to live in small households, where they are encouraged to continue day-to-day activities in a safe and social environment. This shared-living approach addresses the challenges of loneliness and isolation which remain prevalent amongst people with dementia.

Story continues below

It is based on the Dutch ‘household’ care model. A new concept for the UK market, the model is redefining dementia care and creating an alternative to the traditional care home format, giving residents and families a choice, to find the care that’s best for them.

The village was designed by dementia specialists across Bupa and Richmond Villages, and in partnership with experts from the University of Stirling. Bupa’s team also visited ‘household’ retirement villages in the Netherlands to experience the concept first-hand.

The innovative approach to care also extends to staffing. In place of traditional support services such as cooks and cleaners, the village employs household assistants who encourage residents to retain independence, involving them in tasks like meal-planning, cooking, cleaning and gardening. Getting to know residents on a personal level, the assistants also organise activities to suit their individual interests and care needs.

Mornington Court – Cinnamon Care Collection
Savista Developments & Hallmark Care Homes – Hutton View Hallmark Care Home
Summerlands Care Home
Vida Healthcare – Vida Court


Tags : Leaders in Care Awards
Sarah Clarke

The author Sarah Clarke