LIC AWARDS 2021 WINNER: Care Home Provider of the Year, sponsored by apetito

Leaders in Care Awards 2021-423

From not for profit and independents and to large corporates, this award recognises the organisations that have led the pack in terms of providing outstanding care over the past 12 months, despite the many challenges they have faced.

And the winner is Hallmark Care Homes.

Established in 1997, Hallmark Care Homes is an industry-leading, financially stable care home group. It provides residential, nursing and dementia care to over 1,000 residents across 19 locations UK wide and currently has three homes rated outstanding by the Care Quality Care Commission.

Story continues below

The group currently employs over 2,150 people who are supported with continuous learning and development and award schemes so that they feel motivated to deliver excellent relationship-centred care to the residents. During the pandemic, Hallmark also proactively supported its teams by ordering sufficient PPE, putting vulnerable team members on furlough, offering counselling for all teams, along with a support fund people could apply for if they needed to go into self-isolation and were struggling financially as a result.

This financial year, the company has also increased its team member’s salaries in reflection of their efforts during the pandemic so that all employees in England are paid at or above the Real Living Wage. Hallmark has also won 100 awards over the last 24 years for the quality of the care it provides, and received exceptional feedback from residents and relatives.

In 2020, the group was awarded the highest recommendation in the top 20 mid-size care home groups for the fifth year running with a review score 9.6 out of 10 on This has increased to 9.8 this year. Moreover, all Hallmark homes bar one has a ‘Good’, ‘Outstanding’ or ‘Compliant’ CQC/CSSIW rating.

Accepting the award, Hallmark Care Homes executive chairman, Avnish Goyal, said: “It’s such a great boost for us to be recognised by the sector. I am so pleased for the whole team to win this award.”

Anavo Group
Care UK
Cornerstone Healthcare


Tags : Leaders in Care Awards
Sarah Clarke

The author Sarah Clarke