Scottish Care’s 2021 Care at Home and Housing Support Awards revealed


Scottish Care has announced the winners of its 2021 Care at Home and Housing Support Awards.

The virtual ceremony, which was held on June 25 and hosted by Scottish Care CEO Donald Macaskill and singer Michelle McManus, recognised individuals, teams and companies who are delivering a high standard of care in an era of challenging budgets and within an increasingly demanding work environment.

Dr Donald Macaskill, the CEO of Scottish Care said: “The homecare sector is one that is often ignored and rarely recognised, this has been especially true during the Covid-19 pandemic. 

Story continues below

“There are more people cared for and supported in our communities than in our care homes and hospitals combined. They are being supported to play their part as full citizens of their communities. It is a care and support that gives them independence and freedom, meaning and purpose, contribution and value. 

“The Care at Home and Housing Support Awards was therefore an important opportunity to recognise best practice and all the excellent work within the sector. It was an opportunity to say thank you and express our gratitude to all the individuals who make up the homecare workforce.”

The winners of the 2021 Care at Home and Housing Support Awards are:

Care Services Coordination/Administration Award: Leanne Carroll, Janna Blair and Sharon Ross, Cera Care

Care Learning Award: Michelle Zanotti, Eidyn Care

Carer of the Year Award: Alexis Comrie, Cera Care

Emerging Talent Award: Charlene McKellar, Aspire

Management & Leadership Award: Michelle Keir, Home Care Scotland

Outstanding Achievement Award: Laura McLeod, Highland Home Carers

Palliative & End of Life Care Practice Award: Home Help Me Care

Positive Impact Award: Margaret Dass, Altogether Care Services

Technology & People Award: HRM Homecare

Provider of the Year Award: Rainbow Services UK

Caption: Cera picked up two awards at the Care at Home and Housing Support Awards.

Sarah Clarke

The author Sarah Clarke